Freestone County Historical Museum - Who We Are

Patricia Pratt has served as museum as curator beginning Sept. 2, 2015.

2018 Board Members are:

--President Linda Mullen,
--Vice-President Brad Pullin,
--Secretary Nancy Rula,
--Treasurer Leslie Tate, and
--General Board Members: Sherrie Minze, Ralph Billings, Muriel Morton and Don Awalt.


The Freestone County Historical Museum was established in 1967 with the initial steps being taken by the Freestone County Historical Association to set up the organization.

The purpose of the association was to preserve and interpret the historical culture and heritage of Freestone County and the State of Texas. Documents, manuscripts, and artifacts items were gathered throughout the county to place on display in the two story brick 1880’s jail which had been purchased to house the items.

A representation of the entire county made up the original board of directors which were: Mrs. Marjorie Bass, S.B. Carroll, Jr., H.D. Whitaker, C.N. Williford of Fairfield, L.S. Winter, Oakwood, Llewellyn Notley, and B.H. Tyus, of Teague, J.W. Bates and Uel L. Davis, Jr. of Wortham.

The board continues this practice today with members representing the entire county.

Museum is located at 302 E. Main Street.

Wednesday, Friday & Saturday

General Admission:

Celebrating our 50th Year!